Cooking.

Yup it had to be mentioned. Now it’s not that I dislike cooking, it’s just that I don’t see it as a huge deal – just something that has to be done and so will be.

I quite like trying out new recipes, especially when I have random ingredients that I am trying to use up, it just isn’t something that I want to spend all my time doing. Having said that, when it is necessary, I’ll step up (as would anyone) and never has it been more necessary than trying to feed my vegetarian husband a balanced diet in meat-loving-Korea. I guess the fact that I throw in a load of booze with every meal masks the fact that my cooking skills aren’t exactly up to scratch 🙂

I think the toughest thing about cooking in South Korea is that the ingredients aren’t what I’m used to and all the recipes I have / know require ingredients that aren’t readily available here. But you learn and you can pretty quickly start adapting things. My mum always said that as long as you know what good food is supposed to taste like, with a little trial and error, you can start to produce it.

One day last week, I woke up with a desire to make Paneer (Indian Cottage Cheese) which is not only full of protein but is most certainly not available in Songdo and is also one of Raj’s favourite foods.

Following this recipe: http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/paneer_86451 (Thanks BBC) I successfully made paneer with my limited resources (I don’t have muslin, or weights, or a very large pan). I also ended up with a load of whey, which I believe can be used for other purposes, but that is going to be another experiment.IMG_4201.JPG

All in all, I’ve managed to feed Raj for just over a week and he hasn’t politely suggested going out for all our meals yet.. long may it continue!

28/01/2016:

Just a couple of updates to add here:

(1) One great thing about the South Korean supermarkets is the sheer number of samples you can have (presuming that, like me, you’ll eat anything at least once) whilst shopping. It’s helped me to figure out what certain items are, and also, kept the hunger at bay so I don’t buy things based on my stomach!

(2) One tip – when you find something that you like (either you’ve used it before, or it is something from home) and it is on promotion – buy it! Prices change all the time, seemingly without any reason, so use that storage space and buy the long lasting items whilst the going is good!

That’s all for now folks..

05/04/2016:

I’m getting more adventurous in my Iyengar (my community in India) cooking to varying degrees of success. Sometimes I’ll throw everything away in a fit of anger that it doesn’t taste like my mum’s food and sometimes I’ll persevere and get somewhere close. Alongside amma’s recipes, she suggested I use http://www.malas-kitchen.com/ as a guide and it is such a great help and thoroughly recommended, especially if burning toast is about as far as your cooking skills go!

 

Leave a Reply

